Onward

I know, I know, I didn’t write anything “tomorrow.” In fact, “tomorrow” came a couple of days later. But, you know, life and all.

So I mentioned in my last post about a number of changes that have happened over the course of the last six months or so. It’s been a busy 2014 thus far, I can tell you that.

I addition to the house and the hopefully-soon-to-come family, work has been a wee bit crazy for me. It’s been a whirlwind the last few months as we’ve made major changes, moved offices, lost people, gained people, and just generally tried to keep on keepin’ on.

I can’t remember if I’ve ever mentioned what I do for a living here. But in case I haven’t, I’m a writer. A copywriter for an e-commerce site. My job is to write product descriptions for an assortment of household items, electronics, clothing, travel – a little bit of everything. I was originally hired on only as a copywriter, but my role has definitely increased over the course of the year that I’ve been there. I’ve taken on more of a decision-making role in that I have a huge say in what actually goes on the site. We also recently decided to revamp the website, and as copywriter, it was my job to develop our voice and rewrite most of our pages.

Lately, though, things just haven’t been great, and I just feel like I’m on the brink of big changes. I’m on the edge, and I’m just ready to leap.

Well, I took the first step a couple of weeks ago. I signed on with a couple of sites to be a freelance copywriter and copy editor. I’ve taken on a few assignments already, and I really like the flexibility it affords me. And in thinking about the future and our family, flexibility would be beyond great. If I could work things out so that our children don’t have to go to daycare, I can stay home with them every day, but I could also bring in a nice additional income – well, I would just feel like I had it all, let me tell you!

So we’re considering it. Seriously considering it. I’m dabbling in the freelance thing for now, just to see what kind of money I could make just doing it in my spare time. But the Husband and I have decided that if it seems to bring in enough, maybe this could just be my full-time job. It’s an exciting and scary prospect!

I’ve done plenty of research on the topic so far. I know there’s a whole culture of work-at-home moms out there, and I’d love to join their ranks. I also know that in order to be really successful at freelancing, I’m going to need to get my own steady client base, and that’s going to take me putting myself out there. Which I’m not great at. So I’m dabbling for now, and we’ll see what comes of it.

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes! It’s a crazy, exhilarating, nerve-wracking, frustrating time of our lives right now. So much going on, I don’t even know if I can truly understand and appreciate it all. But we must keep pressing forward, moving onward through the fog.

Leave a Reply

