In review

Wow. It has been a LONG time since last I posted. And so much has happened!

I honestly can’t remember what I wrote about last. But just to catch everyone up, the last half of 2013 was a crazy whirlwind of a year. Let’s get caught up, shall we?

I started the last half of last year by landing a new job, after months and months of searching and feeling miserable about myself. It’s quite different from teaching, but I’m loving so much of it. I can’t say every second, simply because who does love everything they do every second of the day? But the people I work with are great, I feel like I’m really accomplishing things and am respected for what I do and what I can do. It’s a pretty great situation all around.

On September 7th, the Fiancé officially became the Husband. It was an absolutely perfect day.

We couldn’t have asked for a more glorious day, and a more beautiful celebration of our love amidst all our family and friends. We are beyond blessed, and I tell him every day how blessed and lucky I am that we found each other.

After the wedding, we headed off on a California honeymoon. I had never been, and he hadn’t been in years, and it was a wonderful experience for us both. We spent three nights in San Francisco and two nights in Napa Valley. We explored the city, walked out on the Golden Gate Bridge, met a Tony Award winner (the original Angel in Rent, one of my all-time favorite Broadway shows), put our feet in the Pacific (feet only – way too cold to get in!), toured wineries, joined a wine club, walked among Redwoods. It was one of those once-in-a-lifetime kind of trips.

We celebrated other new marriages as friends and family members began their own journeys. We each got to stand up for some of our dearest friends as they tied the knot.

House-hunting began, but we soon realized that now is just not the time. No matter how hard I prayed for it to be, God has other plans for us. We’ve decided to stay put for now, and are working hard on making the temporariness of an apartment feel much more like a stable home for our family.

All in all, the start of our marriage has been a better experience than I ever imagined it could be, and I had high hopes. If the first 4 months are any indication, we are in store for a magnificent life together.

I know this particular post wasn’t exactly deep. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to start posting in here more, to keep the writing juices flowing, and I plan on following through with that. I’ve got every hope that this year is going to be an exciting year for my new family, and I don’t want to forget a second of it.

Here’s to 2013 and cheers to 2014! May you all have an exceptionally beautiful year.

Leave a Reply

