Settle down. It’ll all be clear.

I detest American Idol. I’ll admit, I watched the show in its infancy, but cannot stand it now. Something about people going on there who know they can’t sing, but they’re that desperate for their fifteen minutes of fame that they will subject themselves to such embarrassment… I can’t take it.

But the song “Home” by the season 11 winner, Phillip Phillips (seriously, who does that to their kid??), really hits me hard every time I hear it. I was slightly saddened to hear it was the so-called “coronation song” that season. But that doesn’t really take anything away from it for me. I get choked up every single time I hear it because it always seems to come on right when I need it the most.

It’s a simple song, when you really look at/listen to it. Only the opening verse is different. The rest is the chorus sung over and over again. I’m not up on song lingo. Maybe that means it’s not a chorus. But whatever it is, those seven lines he repeats resonate deep within me, give me a sense of calm in a crazy world, and really make me feel like everything is going to be fine.

Let’s take a look, shall we?

“Settle down, it’ll all be clear.”
Stop worrying so damn much! All I do is worry! I can’t see the forest for the trees; I’m so busy concentrating on all the little things. If I just calm down and stop worrying, things will figure themselves out. Things have a funny way of doing just that. It’s strange, isn’t it, how when you stop fussing and worrying over things, your mind is suddenly able to truly comprehend what’s going on, and things suddenly make sense.

“Don’t pay no mind to the demons, they fill you with fear.”
I’ve GOT to stop letting the things that scare me take over my thoughts. Ignore them. Don’t let them win. I’ve got to face my fears, overcome them, or else I’ll never push forward in this life. And I’ve got a lot of pushing forward to do right now.

“Trouble, it might drag you down. If you get lost, you can always be found.”
So huge for me. I’m not lost anymore. I know I’ve got people who will find me, who will drag me out of my abyss, if I need them to. So I can’t be afraid to face things that scare me. If I get dragged down every once in a while because of it, I know my family will be there to lift me up. And that keeps me fighting, day in and day out. Because I’m not scared to anymore.

It’s funny. The Fiancé has a strong connection to music. He loves classical music, hums along with it, can name pieces and composers with only a few notes. But me? I connect with lyrics. Strongly. Maybe that’s why I studied literature in college. I get words. I connect with them. They… Speak to me (no pun intended). And this song has really spoken to me and where I am in life right now. It has come along right when I needed it. Guess things just have a way of doing that.

Leave a Reply

